Welcome to the new AMA President, Professor Steve Robson

The Consumers Health Forum welcomes the announcement from the Australian Medical Association (AMA) that Professor Steve Robson has been elected as the Association’s new President.

CHF CEO Leanne Wells said that Professor Robson, a senior specialist in Obstetrics and Gynaecology in Canberra, has been a champion of consumer-centred care and has always shown a willingness to meet with consumers and have a conversation about issues of mutual interest.

CHF has worked closely and productively with the AMA on major health reform challenges such as Primary Health Care reform. The AMA was active and engaged participants at the Strengthening Medicare Summit co-convened by CHF and the Primary Health Network co-operative in May 2022.

Consumers Health Forum also welcomes Dr Danielle McMullen as the new Vice President. Dr McMullan is a GP in Sydney’s Inner West, and immediate past president of AMA (NSW). Dr McMullen has been notable for her leadership during the pandemic.

“CHF has a proactive and collaborative relationship with the AMA over issues which are of particular concern for health consumers and patients,” said Ms Wells.  

“The AMA has been vocal in calling for private health reform, inviting CHF to present at the recent private health care Summit and calling for fee transparency reforms such as the Medical Costs Finder website,” said Ms Wells.

“Consumer interests have also meant that CHF supports the AMA’s strong advocacy for an obesity strategy and prevention, with both organisations putting in submissions to support the finalisation of the 10 Year Preventive Health Strategy, and a 10 Year National Obesity Strategy,” she said.

Consumers Health Forum thanks the outgoing President and Vice President, Dr Omar Khorshid and Dr Chris Moy for their work over the past two years in these positions. 

The announcement of the results of the election was made at the AMA’s National Conference on Sunday 31 July 2022.



Media contact

Ben Graham

E b.graham@chf.org.au
T:  02 6273 5444 
M: 0461 545 392