Our team is dedicated to representing the interests of Australian healthcare consumers, and making their voices and needs heard at the national policy level.

Leanne Wells
Chief Executive Officer

Leanne is the Chief Executive Officer of the Consumers Health Forum of Australia She is a health advocate and service executive with over thirty years’ experience. Leanne has held executive positions within federal government and in national and state non-government organisations, most recently as CEO of a state-based primary care organisation.  Throughout her career, she has worked in the health and social care sectors. Leanne is a Board Director of Coordinare South East New South Wales Primary Health Network, the Ozhelp Foundation, PainAustralia and Advancing Pharmacy Practice. She is the Independent Chair of Coordinare’s Community Advisory Committee.  Leanne has tertiary qualifications in communications and business. She is a member of both the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Institute of Management.

Mark Metherell
Communications Director

Mark Metherell, Communications Director, joined CHF in 2013 after 42 years as a journalist including as health correspondent in Canberra for the Sydney Morning Herald.

Jo Root
Policy Manager

Jo has been with CHF since November 2014. She manages the policy team to help CHF develop its policy positions and advocate for reform to ensure we move to a consumer centred health system.  Jo has been involved in health policy since 1990, working for the Commonwealth and Queensland Governments and then moving to the non -government sector in community controlled aboriginal health and Council on the Ageing.  She has undergraduate and post graduate qualifications in economics.

Dean Hewson
Digital Health Adviser

Dean has broad experience in the digital and not for profit sectors, and a background in the design of products, services and digital communications. He approaches his work with a collaborative focus, aiming to shepherd the development of the tools, services, information and environments that help people live healthier lives.

Leanne Kelly
Policy – Safety and Quality Officer

Leanne started working at CHF in February 2018 as a Policy Officer /Safety and Quality Officer. She is working closely with the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Service Standards on engaging with consumers and raising awareness of the NSQHS Standards.

Rebecca Randall
Policy and Research Officer

Rebecca’s key areas of focus within CHF are Private Health Insurance Reform, Research and Mental health. She is completing her PhD in youth consumer and community engagement in mental health research at the ANU.  She graduated in 2012 from the ANU with 1st class honours in Science Communication and received the Tillyard Prize, awarded each year to the undergraduate student whose personal qualities and contributions to University life have been judged to be the most outstanding.

Ghislaine Martin
Consumer and Member Relationship Coordinator

Ghislaine has been the Consumer and Member Relationship Coordinator at CHF since 2010.  She is responsible for managing CHF’s membership services and she provides operational support for the CHF Consumer Representative Program which nominates and supports consumer representatives from the CHF membership base.

Joanne Pardoe
Executive Officer

Jo joined the CHF Secretariat in February 2018 in the role of executive officer providing administrative support to the CEO, the Board and the CHF team.  Jo has held executive support positions within federal government and not-for-profit organisations.

Carolyn Thompson
Policy Officer

Carolyn started working with CHF in April 2018 as a Policy Officer. She is involved with CHF’s work on primary care and youth health needs. She is also currently organising the Inaugural Youth Health Forum being held in September 2018.

Ayesha Inoon
Digital Communications Coordinator

Ayesha is a writer and editor, with broad experience in print and digital media. Ayesha started working with CHF in March 2018, and coordinates CHF's digital communications, including the member and stakeholder newsletters, healthUPdate and Consumers Shaping Health.